“By creating compelling content, you can become a celebrity.”

Standard

How Many Do You Recognize?

If you are confused about what the formal definition of emerging media, you are not alone!  Although there is no formal definition, emerging media can be defined as “the evolving use of technology and digital content to enhance work, play, and learning, to broaden access to information, and to enrich personal connection by eliminating the constraints of time and location.” (Ball State University)

Emerging media by definition is something that is always changing. So what’s considered “emerging”? What’s relevant? What’s new? What works?  Emerging media is the beginning of a new trend as means of communication beyond traditional channels such as radio, television, newspapers and magazines.  It embraces the digital age, communication (and advertisement) through the internet, cell phones, tablets and computers.

Emerging Media is global and it’s real-time, an aspect traditional media is unable to offer.  Emerging media is in our living rooms with the TiVo, on our mobile phones as text messaging, chat, web browsing and GPS location based advertising, and is prevalent in the workplace (through the use of Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites) used to engage customers and heighten brand awareness.

Emerging Media is here, it’s now, and it’s everywhere.

I always ask my parents “What in the world did y’all do without cell phones?” when I really mean “What in the world did y’all do when you couldn’t purchase tickets to LSU games over your phone, shop for clothes without having to open up a computer or go to the store, control the DVR from your phone, Tweet while your on an airplane, etc?”.  What is even crazier to me is that my mother (who is probably reading this – Hi Mom!) is more technologically savvy than myself!  She can navigate through her iPhone, iPad2 and Kindle faster than anyone I have ever seen.  I remember “back in the day” when my friends thought my mom was so cool because she would send me text messages, now being able to just send a text is a thing of the past.

This commercial still gets me every time!

My favorite iPhone commercial parody (sad to say I know a few people who would purchase those apps)!

I look forward to explore different topics in emerging media and sharing my thoughts with everyone throughout the next 9 weeks!

Share

One response »

Leave a Reply

